Fleurrys

Share:

Pin It

Places of the Heart: Stafford Homes

Fleurrys

The original home, the “Fleurrys,” is believed to have been built in the 1700s by the Peyton family.  The large section, visible in this picture, was added to the original house from 1850s to 1860 by the Suttle family.  With the construction of Aquia Towne Center,  the older portion, not visible in this picture,  was moved to the grounds of Aquia Episcopal Church where it is used today for administrative purposes.  This newer structure used to be situated on a little knoll with greenhouses to the side.  The charming house was visible from U.S. Highway 1. Unfortunately, it, as well as the knoll, was destroyed to make way for the bank by McDonald’s.  Peytons, Suttles, and Moncures lived in the house. The last owner was educator Anne E. Moncure.  (photo:  Rick MacGregor)